145: Your pet in RUTH SABERTON’s next novel

ITEM: I am offering to include somebody’s pet in my next novel for Orion, which will be out in April 2012. I don’t mind what sort of creature it is! I am just planning the novel now so this is great timing.

BIO: I’m Ruth Saberton and I write for Orion. I was shortlisted last week for the RNA comedy novel of the year, but was pipped at the post by the very fabulous Jill Mansell. That’s an honour as far as I’m concerned!

My first novel for Orion is called “Katy Carter Wants a Hero” and my next out in May is called “Ellie Andrews has Second Thoughts” I also write for Little Black Dress under the pen name of Jessica Fox.

Check me out at my web site www.ruthsaberton.co.uk


37 Comments on “145: Your pet in RUTH SABERTON’s next novel”

  1. Jan Carr says:

    I’d like to open the bidding with £10 please

  2. KK says:

    £50 for two ancient cats, fondly called Pissy & Scratchy.

  3. Wow! This is so exciting! Pissy and Scratchy??? What other strange and wonderful pets are lurking out there? Am sure I will find out!

  4. 75 pounds, please. ( My typewriter doesn’t have the Pound Sterling sign. ) Grace the Face, akak Say Goodnight Gracie, is watching me type this and she said …

  5. go 80. Okay, Gracie, 80 pounds. Ruth, you’re one of the funnest writers in the whole world! Thank you for this extraodinary offer.

  6. KK says:

    Pissy & Scratchy are demanding the story of their move from Cornwall to Peckham makes it into print, I’m going to go £90!

  7. You’re a sweetie, KK. And I think I have to love two old dears named Pissy and Scratchy! Best of luck to the three of you!

  8. Sarah says:

    What a fabulous thing … i have a big slobbery English Mastiff who is adored and beloved by everyone (and the cheekiest of all dopey dogs!) … called Ken!

    I’ll bid £101 to have him immortalised!

  9. Sarah says:

    Oooh he is indeed adorable…. if i could post a photo i would …. although it wouldn’t help the bidding to escalate – everyone would just sit and gaze at his big sad face – and not want to deny him the chance to be immortalised!!!

    So with a brother & family in Japan – COME ON EVERYONE … bid away!!!! Let’s raise some serious money for Japan – this is a brilliant thing!

  10. Elaine Everest says:

    I’ll bid £110.00 on behalf of my 12 year old, Old English Sheepdog, Squidgey aka Paddipaws Piaf.

  11. They all sound fab – my imagination is working overtime!

  12. KK says:

    Pissy & Scratchy are bowing out graciously at this point, they’ve spent all their pocket money on cheese treats and Tena Lady.

    I look forward to reading Ruth’s book and meeting any one of the characters above.

    Such a lovely idea Ruth!

  13. Simon Turpin says:

    Dotty no-ears is a rather elderly cat who I saved because no one would pay for her ear-octomy (?) To remove cancer. She has £120 and will give a ready cooked chicken from Asda to poor felines.

  14. Simon Turpin says:

    Giving the chicken away will be a real sacrifice for her if she wins🙂

  15. Sarah says:

    Ruth – isn’t it lovely that your auction is so much more enjoyable than a series of figures fired into the virtual blogosphere!!!!

    You see – there’s something special about Pet owners.

    I’ve had a long chat with Ken and his pleading eyes have convinced me to bid £135 for him… .then again he could have been pleading for more dinner, or a walk – or his chin to be scratched – but i’ll assume he’s keen to be read about!

  16. Keren David says:

    Much as I love Freddy and Chester, the guinea pigs, I’m not sure I can afford to immortalise them…but I am thinking about it. This is definitely my favourite lot!

  17. Sarah says:

    Ruth – could you write about a vet?! And then we can have all of them in … maybe we’d all 1/2 our bids and all be featured?

    Between Pissy & Scratchy (exiled from Cornwall to Peckham) – Grace the Face, Ken, Squidgy (Paddipaws), Dotty the benevolent cat (without ears?!) & possibly Freddy and Chester…. you’ve got a world of fun to play with…

    Or maybe this is the start of a kids story … the animals adventure where all the others rescue Pissy & Scratchy and return them to Cornwall …

    I love this auction!!!

  18. Sarah says:

    Oh – and by my reckoning i think that would raise you £267.50 …. WOW!

  19. Great idea! But my editor might freak!

  20. Sandra says:

    My favourite auction too. If Sarah’s scenario came true I’d bid to offer Ronan the foundling cat as black as soot and as canny and demanding as a young child. He uses the human toilet and goes for walks with a lead and sleeps with me in bed, with his paws curled in one hand, his head resting in the other.
    Wish I could top Sarah’s £135 but sadly I can’t!

  21. […] 145: Your pet in RUTH SABERTON’s next novel […]

  22. KK says:

    I think a vet would be a fantastic romantic hero, in my Bridget Jones years I was known to take Malcolm & Disco Biscuit (guinea pigs) to see the very handsome Aussie vet for some fairly minor health issues. Go on Ruth, you know it makes publishing sense. We’d all buy copies.

    To those concerned about Pissy & Scratchy’s exile, don’t be, they’ve developed a taste for KFC and regularly scoff at urban foxes AND we all return to Cornwall in 2012! Hoorah.

  23. Hmm, novel three is set in the country, so maybe a vet…
    ‘scuse me while I wander off to boot up Word! x

  24. […] 145. Your Pet in Ruth Saberton’s next novel […]

  25. Sarah says:

    Is that a bid for £145???

    Is Ken’s future celebrity at risk?!

  26. […] 145: Your pet in RUTH SABERTON’s next novel […]

  27. Sarah says:

    OK ….. just in case that is a bid for £145 … i’m popping a bid of £150 in the hope that Ken will appear in all his droopy eyed glory!

    …..fingers crossed for your future books about a hunk of a vet to include all of our menagerie! And here’s to Japan – looks like they’ve got the nuclear under control (finally) just half of a country to re-build!

    Sx

  28. Congratulations Ken! Can’t wait to pop you in the new book. If mum emails me a picture to rsaberton@yahoo.com that will really help! xxx

  29. Elaine Everest says:

    Congratulations Ken!

    Love from Squidgey
    x