111: Query letter critique from Tracy Marchini (5 of 5)

ITEM: Query critique. I’ll look at the letter as I had when I was reading the query box. I’ll give revision suggestions designed to hook the reader, strengthen the plot summary and highlight the submission’s assets. Winning critiques will receive feedback within two days from receipt of query.

BIO: Tracy Marchini is a freelance writer and editorial consultant. Before launching her own editorial service, she worked for Curtis Brown, Ltd. for four years. She has also been a newspaper correspondent for The Taconic Press, children’s book reviewer for BookPage and freelance copywriter for Scholastic.

Tracy has been accepted for publication in Highlights Magazine and is the recipient of a partial grant for an October, 2010 Highlights Founder’s Workshop, a barter at the La Muse writer’s retreat in Southern France for July/August 2010, and a 2006 Puffin Grant to write a non-fiction picture book on Queen Lili’uokalani.

You can also find Tracy at www.tracymarchini.com,  Publisher’s Marketplaceand Twitter.


6 Comments on “111: Query letter critique from Tracy Marchini (5 of 5)”

  1. Marie Tobin says:

    I will bid 2

  2. Effie says:

    £10

  3. Sarah Milne says:

    ooops I’ve bid on this twice as didn’t realise there were 5 of the same lot – can I please retract this bid.

    • Keris says:

      I’ve deleted the £25 bid – hope that was the right one! (Let me know if not.)

      • Sarah Milne says:

        Thanks Keris, that’s fine. It didn’t matter which bid. Just realised I’d bid twice on same thing. This is so awesome, getting exciting for the weekend now. Well done and thanks for organising it x