142: Signed copy of BLACK BOXES by Caroline Smailes + character name

ITEM: Caroline Smailes will name a character in her next novel after the winning bidder plus a signed copy of her novel BLACK BOXES.

DETAILS: Meet Ana Lewis. She is 37 years old and lives with her two children, Pip and Davie. She has just taken an overdose of pills.

By the end of this book Ana will be dead.

Black Boxes follows the final hours of Ana’s life, recording her thoughts and memories. As the drugs start to kick in, we discover the awful sequence of events which have brought her to this moment.

We also get to read pages from the diary of Pip, her teenage daughter, which reveals another side to the story and, just perhaps, a small glimmer of hope.

The second novel from the acclaimed author of In Search of Adam is a heartbreaking but impressive work, from one of the most original voices in modern fiction.

Accomplished and affecting, Caroline Smailes weaves together a catastrophic tale of mismatched lives.


11 Comments on “142: Signed copy of BLACK BOXES by Caroline Smailes + character name”

  1. […] 2 And, the chance to have a character named after you or for you to name the character in my next novel (already signed to be published by The Friday Project). This novel is being written this year and lots of exciting things are already happening around the development of the story. The story is a ‘coming of age’ wonky love story. I can guarantee that strange things will happen to the character and that I’ll try really hard not to kill you off (I’m so not selling this to you, am I?). I’m also throwing in a signed hard backed copy of Black Boxes. (YOU CAN BID HERE). […]

  2. benjaminjudge says:

    Brilliant prize Caroline.

    I’ll start the bidding at £50.

  3. Rebecca Emin says:

    £55. Go, Caroline!

  4. Caroline says:

    Oh what lovely bids! I promise to try and be nice to the winner in my wonky love story. All for a fabulous cause x

  5. Linda says:

    If someone pays more perhaps you could do something nasty to someone they don’t like?

  6. James Hughes says:

    If I’m to come to a sticky demise…I want it to be in a Smailes novel…

  7. Caroline says:

    Yes, what Linda said! I will happily oblige whatever the winner desires. Perfect x

  8. kate mcmillan says:

    what a brilliant idea, and for a brilliant cause. : )
    i bid £60.
    xxx

  9. Carole says:

    I’m bidding for you to name a character after my hubby – Steve £70