152: Paperback edition of TALL STORY, signed and drawn on by Candy Gourlay (2 of 2)

ITEM: Paperback edition of TALL STORY, signed and drawn on by Candy Gourlay (who in one of her previous lives was a cartoonist)

ABOUT TALL STORY: Tall Story was published to acclaim in 2010 by David Fickling Books. It’s about a Filipino boy, Bernardo, and his British half-sister, Andi, finally reunited after years of immigration paperwork – only for Andi to find that Bernardo is eight feet tall, a giant! Shortlisted for the UKLA Children’s Book Award, the Blue Peter My Favourite Story Prize and the Waterstone’s Children’s Book Prize
Reviews http://www.tallstory.net/reviews/

ABOUT CANDY: Candy Quimpo Gourlay is a Filipino author based in London. She reported on the fall of the Marcos dictatorship in 1986 in Manila. She married a British journalist and ended up in England covering first world issues from a developing world perspective for the news agency Inter Press Service. In 2005, she returned to the Philippines to write and present the Radio 4 documentary, MOTHERLESS NATION, about the children left behind by migrant workers. Tall Story is her debut novel. Read Candy’s reflection on the Japanese earthquake http://candygourlay.blogspot.com/2011/03/grieving-with-japan-and-hoping.html


9 Comments on “152: Paperback edition of TALL STORY, signed and drawn on by Candy Gourlay (2 of 2)”

  1. Laura says:

    I’ll raise you to £6.

  2. £20. Then I can leave it to the British Museum when Candy gets her Nobel Prize.

  3. Laura says:

    Right – I’ll got up to £25 then. I’ll promise to leave it to the British Library as well.

  4. Right. £30. Sorry, Laura.

  5. Fran says:

    I will go to £35 – I am a childrens librarian but I just want this book for myself! I love the story. Would love to see Candy do an author talk at one of ourlibraries!

  6. wow, you guys. okay, i will not just doodle, i will do a complex illustration on the front page. will work on it now and post on my FB page. make it worth your while (feeling guilty)