4: Six months children’s/YA writer mentoring with Susie Day

ITEM: Six months mentoring for a children’s or YA writer.

DETAILS: This will include me working with you (via email, at least twice a month, though I can type for Blighty so in practice it’ll probably be much more than that) in whatever way is most appropriate for the stage you’re at – whether you’re already groaning under the weight of rejection letters, or wondering how to take an idea from your head and make it happen on the page.

I’ll critique chapters, and help you write a synopsis. I’ll give you advice on social media, and guide you to good resources and clever people. I’ll badger you into writing through the glum times, and I’ll cheer you on when it flows. You know how all those ‘How To’ books tell you to get someone impartial to read your work, a crit partner or a writers’ circle, someone who understands? That’ll be me. (I promise to be nice. And occasionally stern and teacher-like, because that will actually be useful. But mostly nice.)

Open internationally, no picture books or poetry please!

BIO: I write funny books for peculiar girls. My books include teen blog-novel BIG WOO and geek romance GIRL MEETS CAKE (published in the US as SERAFINA67 and MY INVISIBLE BOYFRIEND): my new series MERMAID GIRLS for 8-12s is out next year, along with another YA novel.


32 Comments on “4: Six months children’s/YA writer mentoring with Susie Day”

  1. Brigita says:

    This is a priceless offer, but I’ll start with 20 pounds.

  2. […] Six months mentoring for a children’s or YA writer from Susie Day. […]

  3. Katy Haye says:

    Come on all you budding YA writers, this has to be worth far more than GBP100 of anyone’s money!

    £100 bid. Outbid me, someone.

  4. Jacob SW says:

    Curse you, Catherine Cooper, and your generous, charity-supporting ways. You leave me no choice:

    £130!

  5. Nicola says:

    £160

  6. louise pears says:

    Really fab idea!
    £200

  7. Amazing! I bid £220.00

  8. levparikian says:

    Got to be worth 250 of those increasingly low-value English pounds, surely? Well, I think so, anyway.

  9. This sounds great. I’ll bid £280

  10. […] 4: Six months children’s/YA writer mentoring with Susie Day […]

  11. Kerryanne says:

    £290

  12. Lev Parikian says:

    Oh go on then. £300.

  13. catherine cooper says:

    350 pounds

  14. levparikian says:

    If you insist. £375

  15. BobbyBoo says:

    £380

  16. Michelle Newell says:

    £450.00

  17. Kerryanne says:

    £376 sorry😛

  18. Michelle Newell says:

    £520.00

  19. Susie says:

    Just so you know – I LOVE YOU ALL, LOADS.😀

  20. Michelle Newell says:

    Levparikian, I was about to say the same thing to you! Maybe we could split Susie’s time between us! Feel a bit cheeky doing all this frantic last minute bidding!

  21. levparikian says:

    V generous offer, Michelle and would happily accept but would have to leave it to Susie to decide. I would promise not to be any trouble at all and do everything she says😉

  22. Michelle Newell says:

    Hi susie, very very excited!

  23. Susie says:

    Congratulations Michelle! Am overwhelmed by your generosity, and promised to do my level best to be worth it.

    I’m definitely up for some kind of split between you two, if that’s what you’d like – so long as neither of you would mind me spreading myself a bit thinner as a result, don’t want to cheat anyone! And of course so long as the money gets where it needs to🙂

    Email me? susie AT susieday.com – and roll on an exciting 6 months!