YA Author Keris Stainton’s picks

Keris Stainton is the author of YA novels DELLA SAYS: OMG! and the forthcoming JESSIE ♥ NYC. She spends her days tweeting, drinking tea and thinking about David Mitchell.

50: Signed first edition hardback of SCRIVENER’S MOON by Philip Reeve

I started reading children/YA fiction when I worked at Waterstone’s years ago and Philip Reeve’s Mortal Engines (It was a dark, blustery afternoon in spring, and the city of London was chasing a small mining town across the dried-out bed of the old North Sea …) was one of the first books I was completely blown away by. I’m not ashamed to say that I did a little squee when I got Philip’s email.

57: Non Fiction critique up to 3000 words by Diane Shipley + copies of FILLED WITH GLEE, A TASTE OF TRUE BLOOD, and HOUSE, UNAUTHORIZED

Diane is not only a wonderful writer, she’s one of the most intelligent people I’ve ever met. If you’re interested in writing non-fic, her advice would be invaluable. Also? Glee!

174: Character name in NAOMI ALDERMAN’s new novel DOCTOR WHO: BORROWED TIME

Now I’m no Whovian, but even I can see what a fabulous, most likely once-in-a-lifetime, opportunity this is. Your name. In the Whoniverse (I have no idea if they call it that, but if they don’t they totally should).

60: One to one social media mentoring with Alison Norrington

I don’t think it would be overstating things to say that social media completely changed my life. You need to look at your online presence and Alison Norrington is an expert in the field.

179: Signed pre-publication proof copy of ESSIE FOX’s novel The Somnambulist

I know Essie via Twitter and I’ve been excited about this book since I first heard of it. It sounds glorious. And the cover is beautiful too.