93: Critique of a submission package for a children’s or YA novel + signed copy of HOW ALI FERGUSON SAVED HOUDINI by Elen Caldecott

ITEM: I’m offering a critique of a submission package for a YA or children’s novel. PLUS a signed copy of my latest novel for children ‘How Ali Ferguson Saved Houdini’.

DETAILS: A submission package is typically the first three chapters of your novel, plus a synopsis and covering letter. I will read and critique the whole lot, via email. I will identify the strengths and weaknesses of your submission and help you to make your work the best it can possibly be.

You’ll want to know that I can actually write, so I will also send you a signed copy of my latest book ‘How Ali Ferguson Saved Houdini’ which is an adventure story for 8-12s. In it, Ali has to solve a case of disappearing animals, missing neighbours and dodgy dealings before Mum finds herself in more trouble than either of them can handle.

I have an MA in Writng for Children and my first novel, ‘How Kirsty Jenkins Stole the Elephant’, was shortlisted for the Waterstone’s Prize, longlisted for the Carnegie Medal and was highly commended in the Sheffield Children’s Book Awards.


13 Comments on “93: Critique of a submission package for a children’s or YA novel + signed copy of HOW ALI FERGUSON SAVED HOUDINI by Elen Caldecott”

  1. I should say, if you don’t need a critique I can substitute a copy of ‘How Kirsty Jenkins Stole the Elephant’ and ‘Operation Eiffel Tower’ (as soon as I have a hot-off-the-press copy) instead.

    If you do want the critique then there is no time limit on this offer. If your chapters aren’t ready now you can get in touch whenever they are.

  2. Effie says:

    £20

  3. Effie says:

    AH – just seen the bid before mine. In that case, I’ll make it

    £25

  4. francesthomas says:

    I have to find out how ‘Kirsty Jenkins’ which I read a chapter of the other day, finishes, so I’ll bid £30 for the two books (signed to my grandaughter, Lily, if possible)

  5. Kimi Little says:

    Please put me down for 35 _ I don’t have the pound sign, though…

  6. francesthomas says:

    £40

  7. lindsey parsons says:

    £50

  8. Kerryanne says:

    £55

  9. […] 93 Critique of a submission package for a children’s or YA novel + signed copy of HOW ALI FERGUSON… […]

  10. Lois Johnson says:

    £65